Meet BPRS-NY’s Marquise McCoy!

Image

Looking to dive into the crazy, fun world of PR?  Our very own Marquise McCoy gives us insight on what it’s like for an up and coming PR pro, and why he’d choose PR over any other career.

Name: Marquise McCoy

Current position/company (or career goal): Senior Program Executive at Hotwire PR (no relation to Hotwire travel company!)

What did you major in (or are currently majoring in)? I majored in Media Management and Sports Administration with a minor in Business Administration at the University of Miami

Why did you choose public relations (or why does it interest you)?  I chose public relations because I have always had an interest in writing, talking to people and helping them at the same time. There weren’t too many industries that I could go into where I would get paid to do all three, so PR became the natural fit. Helping organizations achieve business goals, while targeting specific groups and helping cause change are things that attracted me to PR. Did I mention that I get to go to lots of networking events and parties to meet new people? Who wouldn’t choose PR?

Who are your mentors? What lessons did they teach you?  I have a few mentors in my life that have come from various backgrounds. Among them are Bryan Adams, an entrepreneur and publicist. He has helped me set vision and focus for my career, but more importantly, has taught me the keys and tricks to networking. We met at a networking event when I first moved to New York three years ago.

Also, Mogolodi “Lodi” Bond, who works in corporate communications for SAC Capital. Lodi is a great example of how to be a leader, no matter the team size. His teachings were usually focused on the importance of always being prepared, establishing a positive corporate culture and how to lead by example – not by words. Lodi and I met during my job at B-M.

Emily Graham, a VP at MWW, has been more of a peer mentor. Her success in the PR industry and tone for conduct in the corporate environment has truly been an inspiration. She always reminds me to remember your value as a PR practitioner and best practices for keeping client’s needs top-of-mind for you and your team. More importantly, she never lets me forget the necessity of a good work-life balance and staying humble.

Together, my mentors have positively influenced my life and career. I can honestly say that they are more than mentors but lifelong friends.

Who do you consider to be a PR visionary? How does their work inspire you? I consider Dallas Lawrence to be a PR visionary. After working with him on a new business presentation during my first six months in the PR industry, I immediately knew that this guy was special. Focusing on digital communications, he is a candidate for LVUSD School Board; Lead Corp. Comms & Govt. Affairs @Mattel, Former @USNavy Officer, @USC Instructor, family man and a proud father of two.

Dallas has also contributed to Mashable and spoken at several conferences as a thought leader. He is digital native and can speak circles around anyone when it comes to digital communications, executive counsel and strategic corporate planning among many things. It is not often that you meet someone who can wear so many hats, so well. He is true PR visionary because he sets the example, provides mold and gets things done!

How has joining the Black Public Relations Society-NY helped you?  Joining the BPRS-NY has helped me by introducing me to key people in the industry through networking. Additionally, they have exposed me to other sub-industries within PR that I do not work in. Although I do not work in these industries, BPRS-NY has helped me to understand the full PR landscape that is vital to succeeding. To be a great PR person, you must understand everything – even things that do not touch your client so that you perfectly understand their space, needs and how to accommodate.

What’s the best advice you’ve been given?  The best advice I have ever been given in the PR world is to never walk into a meeting without paper and a pen. I think this is important because we often say “I’ll remember” or “I can take notes on my computer/phone/tablet.” Sometimes we are so use to being online and on-the-go that we forget the simplicity of writing and notes, while still giving your attention to the project at hand.

Even if the meeting is not intensive, the sight of someone being engaging and taking notes on what you you are saying speaks wonders. It also looks better than someone typing on a device because no one really ever knows what that person is doing. After all it does have Wi-Fi, 4G and gaming capabilities.

Connect with Marquise McCoy on Twitter!

